Cybersquatting American International Group
DomainFight.net reports the following Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy Proceedings brought by American International Group, Inc. (AIG), on October 8, 2006. DomainTools.com reports the following typographical variations of “AIGInsurance”, most of which are cybersquatted WIPO typographical variations of the AIGInsurance.com domain. These results don’t include the typosquatting on American International Group’s primary website, AIG.com.
It looks like American International Group did a better job protecting its domain name than it did running its business.




Rob:
You are correct that fair commentary about AIG is a classic gripe site fully protected by the first amendment. As long as you do it right, you will have limited exposure launching AIGBankruptcy.com. My guess is that they might have bigger issues than protecting domain names over the next many years. Good luck with your web site.
Posted by: TL | 03/20/2009 at 09:06
"These results don’t include the typosquatting on American International Group’s primary website, AIG.com."
What does this mean?
Also, I registered AIGBankruptcy.com the other day and have no problem announcing it to the world.
The domain is not for sale and it is not parked.
If/when AIG declares bankruptcy, I will start a blog so people can leave public comments with their thoughts for executives and employees of this corrupt company.
Posted by: Rob Sequin | 03/20/2009 at 07:41